The Silver Lining

Hi friends! This week has been kind of crazy. Regardless of getting myself organized at the beginning of the week I feel like everything has just gotten away from me and I am struggling to keep up! Does anyone else every feel like that? I did miss my promised post on my wardrobe basics (I’m sorry!) but I have a little boy who has decided to only take one nap daily instead of two, and a short one at that. It has totally thrown me off! I’m pushing that post back to next week or the week after, just to give me some more time to put my wardrobe together and to get used to my new daily schedule (I miss Evan’s two naps!!!)

Anyway, let’s look on the bright side of things that happened this week, shall we?

Silver Lining Header

Extra sleep // On Tuesday morning both Brinton and I were supposed to wake up at 6 AM so he could be ready for me to drop him off at work by 7 and so that I could get ready for work too. On Tuesdays after I drop him off I come back home, make Evan breakfast, get his bag together, and then head to work by 8am. Well, Brinton’s alarm never went off and I woke suddenly at 6:46 AM and we kind of freaked out. I don’t know how we did it, but we both made it work on time, Evan was still fed, and on the bright side, we got about 45 minutes of extra (and apparently much needed) sleep.

Independent Play // I don’t know why, but for the last few mornings I have been waking up okay, but I am completely exhausted barely an hour later. It has made it not only really hard to get anything done in the mornings, but super hard to play with Evan like I should be doing! It makes me feel not only exhausted, but guilty too! Even this morning, I just laid down on the couch and kept drifting off as he played. The silver lining? Evan has been awesome about having independent play in the mornings, and I haven’t had to worry about if he is still having fun. He lets me know when he needs me or wants me to play with him or read to him, but otherwise he has been totally cool about letting mom get a few more minutes of rest.

Getting my butt kicked // This week I started Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 week 2 and the first day completely kicked my butt. On the bright side though I have been working out for at least 30 minutes every day since the day after Christmas! Today is day 15 and I feel great. I’ve been alternating the Ripped in 30 work out with yoga and pilates, and next week I am going to try to find ways to incorporate more cardio as well. To be completely honest I don’t usually stick with working out this consistently and I certainly have never managed to stay committed to doing something every single day, so I am really proud of myself for getting past two weeks. I am excited to keep it up and start seeing changes in how I look, too!

Gas is $3.28/gallon // Ha! That IS the silver lining! That is the lowest it has been here in Honolulu since we moved here 3 and a half years ago. I’m sure to the rest of the country right now that seems crazy high, but I’m excited!

AdobePhotoshopExpress_6cf2f4caf8fb42c589b782917d3fd1dd

Taking down Christmas // Yes, we still had Christmas decorations up until today. I know, I know. But we seriously had nothing decorating our walls before Christmas and I didn’t want to take everything down and feel sad! The bright side though is that I have been doodling and brainstorming and have come up with the next piece of art that I want to create to hang in the den. We never decorated this apartment because it’s kind of old and sad, and we were hoping we wouldn’t be here for very long…but we have lived here almost two and a half years now and I need some stuff up on the walls. It’s time!

Thanks for being patient with me as I play catch up. I know I’m always playing catch up, and I really intended to not have to do that this year, but Evan’s nap schedule changing really has thrown off my daily schedule. Now that it has been a week and I know more what I can expect from him I think I can work on getting ahead of the game again.

Happy weekend!

Linking up with Five on Friday and Oh Hey Friday!

4 thoughts on “The Silver Lining

    • I remember seeing it as high as $4.78! It’s a major bummer. But today I saw it for $3.19 so we are steadily dropping and I’m so happy about it. I miss mainland prices though!!!

Leave a Reply

