Goals for 2015

I hope all of you had a fun and relaxing New Year’s Day today. Even though Brinton had to work we still had a great afternoon and evening together as a family, and even got the chance to enjoy a Chinese dinner which is one of my favorite New Year’s Day traditions. I know it’s already pretty late in the day, but I wanted to go ahead and put up my goals for 2015 post before I went to bed tonight. So, here they are!

Goals for 2015 Header

As I mentioned in the last post, my word of the year for 2015 is priorities. Keeping that in mind, I took some time today to think about what things I really wanted to prioritize this year, and I came up with five areas of my life I want to improve.

Faith // Practice more open communication with the Lord through prayer and scripture study, and continue to learn how to listen to Him (how He speaks to me).

Fitness // Be active for at least 30 minutes every day.

Finance // Learn how to make a monthly budget–and then stick to it!

Self // Make time to allow myself to be more creative–learning new skills, DIY, art, music, theatre, YouTube, etc.

Family // Communicate more openly with my husband and make an effort to intentionally date him through the year; push myself to be more present with Evan and not allow less important tasks to distract me from my most important job as a mother.

This year I tried to set goals that would be attainable but still push me and challenge me to grow. I have every intention of using these goals to guide me in my monthly and weekly planning, and am confident that my word of the year will drive me each and every day. Even today it made a difference! Evan woke up so crazy early this morning and when he went down for his first nap all I wanted to do was take a nap too. But instead–remembering priorities–I changed into my work out clothes and pushed myself for 30 minutes. I ended up with a pretty good dose of energy through the rest of the morning, and even though I was a little tired by the afternoon I felt so good that I had made a positive choice.

So tell me, what are some of your goals for 2015? How did you celebrate the arrival of the new year?

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2015

Leave a Reply

