2015 and my Word of the Year

Friends,

Happy New Year Polaroid

I know I’ve been missing in action for a few months around here. When my in-laws came to visit in November I let myself take some time off from the blog so I could really enjoy their visit. Then the holidays were suddenly here and I decided to not stress over making sure I was getting posts up and just take a little blog-vacation until the new year. I’m sorry I didn’t really have a post up to communicate all that to you! Forgive me?

Speaking of the new year–I can’t believe it’s here already. I feel like holidays sped by so quickly that they didn’t even happen yet! Even though the end of 2014 flew by, I am really excited for the new year. I always feel like in a way, the slate is somewhat wiped clean at the start of a new year. It’s a perfect chance to start fresh, be renewed and re-energized, and set some new goals. I like the idea of goals so much better than the idea of resolutions. And this year, inspired by Elizabeth from Elizabeth Loves, I decided to pick a word to focus on in 2015–a word of the year, if you will. I’m still setting a few goals, but this year I am going to use this word to inspire and motivate me to accomplish the things I set out to do and to help me transform into a better version of myself.

So, what’s my word of the year, you ask? Priorities. I can easily say that with this word in mind as I plan my goals–both my larger goals and my smaller day to day tasks–I will be able to really evaluate if I am working towards the things that matter most to me. And sometimes it won’t be about making a good decision vs. a bad decision, but perhaps it will be to choose between something good and something better. I was inspired by this word, and chose it with the hope that I will be able to look back on my year at the end of 2015 with a feeling of accomplishment and knowing that I actively made an effort every day to improve myself.

Also…surprise! I decided to go for it and make my first YouTube video. Whaaaat?! I know. Crazy. I’d love for you to watch and let me know what your word for 2015 is going to be.

I’ll be back on the blog later today to share my goals for the year, but since I am writing this just before midnight on New Year’s Eve, I’m going to close my laptop and enjoy watching the rebroadcast of the ball dropping in Times Square with my husband.

Happy New Year everyone!!!

2 thoughts on “2015 and my Word of the Year

Leave a Reply

