Catching Up

Oh how I have missed you, blog friends! The last two weeks have been CRAZY. I had every intention of posting two yummy fall recipes, a few posts about nails and such, and some miscellaneous idea posts over the last few weeks, but I ended up doing none of those things. My poor little boy was so sick for so long that I did absolutely nothing but cuddle him for days, and then literally the day after he finally started feeling a little better I threw a triple baby shower for three of my good friends. Just a few days after that my in-laws arrived for a visit…and life has just been so busy! I wanted to write a “High Five for Friday” post yesterday to recap a bit of what has been happening, but well…it’s Saturday, so I missed that too. Ha!

Anyway, let’s catch up just a bit.

[Sick Baby]
Like I mentioned, Evan was sick for about two weeks and it drained us both of all the energy we had. First he had roseola and had a fever right around 104 for almost four days before his fever finally broke and he got the rash. The day after the rash showed up he came down with this horrible chest cold that had been going around, and by the next afternoon not only was his cough terrible, but it had developed into a double ear infection too. There was a whole day where we did absolutely nothing but sit and cuddle. I hate him being sick, but I loved those cuddles so much. Luckily, except for a slight lingering cough, he is better now! Thank goodness.

WP_20141030_15_49_50_Pro

[Baby Shower]
Last Saturday I threw a triple baby shower for my friends Haley, Tami, and Heidi who are all due with baby boys back to back in November, December, and January. It was a lot of fun and we had a great turn out of friends. Planning ended up being exhausting (mostly because Evan was so sick for the whole week before hand) and because it was so windy that day it didn’t really turn out exactly as I had hoped, but everyone still had a good time and that’s really all that matters. I missed out on taking all the pictures I wanted to because I had a baby on my hip the whole time, but oh well! Haha I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again–try as I might, I’m just not the Pinterest mom I want to be.

Carnival Baby Shower InvitationWP_20141031_22_43_00_ProIMG_6727IMG_6726IMG_6734Me and HeidiBaby Shower Guests

[Farmer’s Markets]
For the last two weeks we have taken advantage of going to the local farmer’s markets and we have been loving it. This morning we got to taste so many yummy local treats and indulged in a few specialty things too. The weather has been beautiful here for the past few days and this morning was no different. We made sure to pick up some local avocados too–they are as big as my face and I love them!

WP_20141102_14_44_10_Pro6tag_081114-153117

[Nails]
It has been a long time since I shared nail designs with you all on the blog. I post them on Instagram more often than I blog them, but even there I have been slacking. I went a few months with bare nails to give myself a break (and because my nails were in poor condition due to my lack of TLC) but now that they are better and a reasonable length again, I’m back into doing my nails while my little one naps. I think I want to try the Jamberry nail wraps too. I hear a lot of good things about them, but I am so skeptical to spend so much money on something if I don’t know for sure that it will work. Maybe. We’ll see. Are any of you Jamberry consultants? Want to send me some for free so I can try them?

InstagramCapture_958c1977-2847-492d-b326-a65186107bc7 6tag-1978057-840847959459350630_1978057

[Yoga]
I have been terrible with working out lately, and starting a new workout while we have visitors is probably not the best idea, but as soon as everything settles back down I really want to start up yoga again (but for serious this time). I always feel so good after I do it, and it’s a challenge for me because it’s the kind of work out where I have to go go at my body’s own pace. I can’t make myself stretch any more quickly than my muscles want to, and I know that I can’t rush balancing either. I love working out really hard and feeling the burn of cardio and weight training too, but there is something so much more invigorating to my whole body to be able to contort myself, find that core balance, and get that amazing stretch. I wish I could afford to take classes somewhere, because sometimes it’s hard to do it at home and clear my mind, but paying for yoga is just out of the question right now. I follow @jesswalkeryoga on Instagram though and her posts totally inspire me to go for it and do yoga no matter where I have to do it! (Plus, if Evan can get his yoga on, I sure as heck better be able to also…)

6tag-39593812-818332842583627576_39593812

@jesswalkeryoga on Instagram

WP_20141008_14_06_17_Pro

Well, Evan’s nap is almost over and I know he is going to want to play any second, so I’ll wrap this up. I’m hoping to be able to post some of those recipes and other idea posts for you this week! Thanks for sticking with me even as I’ve been gone. It means the world to me!

Linking up with Lauren ElizabethFriday Favorites, Five on Friday, and Oh Hey Friday! (Yeah, even though it’s not Friday…!)

2 thoughts on “Catching Up

Leave a Reply

