Baked Fish with Breadcrumbs

Do you have certain meals that just bring you back to your childhood? When I was little, my parents would make this dinner every now and then and I absolutely loved it. I’m pretty sure I don’t make it the same way they do (don’t worry…I’m not sharing secret recipes mom and dad), but nevertheless it is delicious. I have been craving fish for the last week or so and when I made this last night it was exactly what I wanted. The topping is crispy, the fish is buttery and flaky–the whole meal is just melt-in-your-mouth amazing.

Baked Fish with Breadcrumbs Header 2

This recipe will work with any white fish which makes it not only a versatile recipe but also potentially very inexpensive! And once again, this is a meal you can make in less than 30 minutes. You know those are my favorite recipes!

What You Need:
3 or 4 fillets of fish, any white fish will do
3 or 4 tablespoons of butter (one for each fillet), plus 1 and a half tablespoons set aside
1 tablespoon of lemon juice
a dash of garlic powder (or fresh garlic…I just was being lazy)
3/4 cup Italian style breadcrumbs
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

The How To:
1. Melt the three (or four) tablespoons of butter and mix in the lemon juice and garlic powder. On a baking sheet lined with tinfoil, drizzle the butter mixture over each fillet making sure to coat both the bottom and top of each piece.
2. In a separate bowl, combine the breadcrumbs and Parmesan. Melt the one and a half tablespoons of butter you had set aside, and pour it on top of the breadcrumbs. Using your fingers, work the butter in until the mixture looks crumbly.
3. Generously cover each fillet with the breadcrumbs.
4. Place in the oven at 400°F for 15-17 minutes until the breadcrumbs are crispy and the fish flakes easily with a fork. I cooked mine for 15 minutes and it came out perfectly.

That’s it! Simple, right? Enjoy!

Fish close up 2 Brussel Sprouts close up

PS- These roasted brussels sprouts made a delicious side dish. Cut the brussels sprouts in half, and toss them with some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper. Roast them at 425°F for 20 minutes and they are perfect!

Open up!

Fish close up

Linking up with Delicious Dish TuesdayTuesday’s Table, Lou Lou Girls, and Hot Momma’s Kitchen!

7 thoughts on “Baked Fish with Breadcrumbs

  1. I am always looking for fish recipes to add to my weekly menu! This recipe looks delicious and easy to prepare. And I am loving Brussels Sprouts these days, however, mine aren’t as healthy as your recipe 🙂 Stopping by from the link up!

  2. YUM! My pescaterian daughter would love her fish cooked this way, I’ll have to give it a try. Thanks for joining us again at TYSH recipe link party! See you next Tuesday! HUGS

Leave a Reply

