DIY Number Onesie

For Evan’s birthday I really wanted him to have an adorable birthday outfit. I had pinned a dozen or so ideas for a cute little outfit with dark wash jeans, suspenders, and a bow tie, but all that fanciness just didn’t really fit into our casual beach celebration. I was going to just go to the store and try to find a birthday onesie for him, but the only store I was sure I would find one at was Babies ‘R’ Us and I didn’t feel like driving 30 minutes for an overpriced onesie that he would only wear once. So instead, I decided to make him a onesie with a big number one.

Evan Jay  One year  001

This whole project cost me less than $5 and I absolutely loved the way it turned out! I don’t have a sewing machine so I ended up hand sewing the whole thing, but if you have a sewing machine I can’t imagine it would take you very long to make either. Quick, inexpensive, and adorable?! That’s my kind of project.

What You Need:
A onesie (it doesn’t have to be white)
A square of fabric in the pattern of your choice (available at Walmart for about $1)
A number in the font of your choice printed out on regular paper from your computer
Not Pictured- Fray Check (available at Walmart for about $3 if you don’t have some already)
A needle and thread or a sewing machine
A pencil, for tracing

*Baby toes not required*

WP_20140826_16_20_01_Pro (1)

The How To:
1. Find a font you like and type the number you want to make for the onesie. Make it as big as you want it to be actually sewn on. Print it out and cut it out exactly.
2. Iron the fabric so that it lays flat. Lay the number down on the “wrong side” of the fabric and trace around the number leaving about 1/4 to 1/2 inch margin all the way around it. Make sure you are tracing it so that the number is the right way!!! You don’t want to flip the fabric over to the “right side” and realize you traced it backwards.
3. Cut out your number and put fray check over all of the edges. You don’t want it to come apart later! Let that dry for a few minutes.
4. Figure out where you want the number placed. I wanted a big number one right in the middle of the onesie. You can tack down the fabric if you’d like, but it isn’t necessary.
5. Hand sew or use a sewing machine to finish it off. I liked the way it looked to leave a margin around the edge, but if you want to you can also sew exactly around the edge for a different look.

You’re done!

Finished onesie

If you decide to make one, let me know how it turns out! Tag me on social media and use the hashtag #mariasmilingdiy.

Linking up!

Moonlight and Mason Jars//Your Whims Wednesday//Wow Me Wednesday//Whip it up Wednesday//Inspire Me Wednesday//Treat Yo’ Self//The Project Stash//Artsy Corner//What You Wish Wednesday//Whatever Goes Wednesday//Worthwhile Wednesdays//Work It Wednesday

5 thoughts on “DIY Number Onesie

  1. Pingback: Inspire Me Wednesday Linky Party {Issue 98}

Leave a Reply

