Mongolian Beef, Chicken, and Tofu

First, I just want to say that I know I have been pretty absent for the past week, but it probably isn’t going to get any better this week. My sister is here visiting which means we are out doing fun things! I’m just too busy this week to be able to post consistently. Next week I will (hopefully) be back to normal!

Oh also, I’ve decided I’m just going to combine my July and August favorites because I completely fell behind on that too and with how busy this week is I feel like it’s going to be way too late to play catch up.

Okay, now that all my housekeeping is done…on to Mongolian goodness!

Mongolian Tofu Header

The first time I had P.F. Chang’s Mongolian beef I was in love. It became my new favorite dish. Eating out often is way too expensive though, so I decided to find an at-home recipe that was just as good as the real thing.

Doing my research, I realized that most of the Mongolian sauce recipes online were all the same, and to be honest I really haven’t changed it up at all. What I do like to change up is the protein. This sauce is delicious on beef, chicken, and tofu, and I’m sure it would be just as delicious on pork or even just veggies alone. This particular time I made it, I used tofu.

I love making this on a weeknight when I don’t have a lot of time to cook but when I still want a filling, delicious dinner. This recipe is quick (under 30 minutes!) and keeps well for leftovers the next day.

What You Need:
For the sauce:
1 tablespoon oil
2-3 teaspoons of garlic (to taste)
1 teaspoon ground ginger (again, to taste)
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup water
2/3 cup brown sugar
3-5 scallions, green parts only

For the protein:
1 pound of your choice of protein
1/4 cup cornstarch
2 tablespoons oil
salt and pepper to taste

The Sauce How To:
1. In a medium sized saucepan, heat the oil, add the ginger, and saute the garlic until lightly browned.
2. Stir in the soy sauce and water until well combined.
3. Add the brown sugar, mix until dissolved, and allow it to come to a boil for about three minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

The Protein How To:
1. If using beef or chicken slice into strips. I recommend flank steak for the beef (make sure to cut against the grain!) If using tofu, which is what I used here, cut it into cubes and press it to drain some of the water.
2. Salt and pepper your protein, and then toss with cornstarch so it is lightly coated. Let that sit for about 10 minutes to let the cornstarch stick. If you’re using tofu, you don’t have to wait the 10 minutes.
3. While you’re waiting, you can cut your scallions–green parts only–into inch-long strips. Set them aside.
4. Heat oil in a pan, and cook off your protein until lightly browned. For beef, this only takes a few minutes. You don’t want to overcook it! If you are using chicken, you will want to make sure it is cooked all the way through.
5. Once your protein is browned and cooked, add the sauce to the pan and stir to coat your protein. Let the sauce come back to a boil and then turn off the heat. Add the scallions and mix them in.

You’re done! I usually serve this over white rice, but brown rice is delicious too. If you’re feeling really adventurous I’m sure you could even use quinoa. I’ve also experimented with adding sauteed broccoli for some extra veggie goodness, but that’s totally up to you.

Tofu 1

Note: A lot of recipes I found say to saute your protein in a lot more oil (almost a cup) and then once it is mostly finished cooking, they say to drain the oil and return the protein to the pan. I usually just use less oil to begin with and skip this step.

I hope you enjoy this! Sorry I don’t have step by step pictures (again!). This was kind of a last minute idea for a post after I made dinner last night because I realized I hadn’t posted in a while. Again, I’m aiming to be more diligent with the blog next week. Right now though, I’m off to go hiking!

Linking up with Delicious Dish Tuesday and Tuesday’s Table!

6 thoughts on “Mongolian Beef, Chicken, and Tofu

  1. Looks good! I found you on Tuesdays Table & would like to invite you to my recipe link party The Yuck Stops Here. Stop by my blog, Hot Momma’s Kitchen Chaos anytime before Sunday at 8pm ET this week to linkup. I really hope to see you there! HUGS

    • Hi! Thanks for the linkup invite! My sister has been in town all week so I’ve been absent from the blog, but I’ll be sure to link up this week. See you!

    • I was nervous before trying tofu for the first time, but it’s actually really good! I prefer the extra firm tofu… The silken one is a weird texture for me, but the firm one is much more palatable. You should try it! It’s a pretty inexpensive protein, so if you hate it, no big loss.

  2. I’m not going to lie, tofu definitely makes me nervious but you make it look good! The sauce sounds like it makes the dish. Do you think it would work just as easily with chicken?

    Thanks for sharing at DDT!

Leave a Reply

