Blueberry Crumble for Two

I don’t know what it is, but for the last few days my sweet tooth has been completely controlling me. Ever since having gestational diabetes I have been a lot more aware of what kinds of foods I’m consuming and I’ve been trying to eat more balanced meals, but sometimes I don’t really do so well.

This was one of those times. Carbs are just so delicious, you know?!Blueberry crumble header

Okay, so it isn’t exactly a diabetes friendly recipe…but it is delicious. And since I don’t have diabetes anymore, I don’t mind splurging a bit. I mean I know having had gestational diabetes raises my risk factor for getting diabetes later…but sometimes you just have to “live on the wild side.”

Anyway, this post isn’t about diabetes. It’s about blueberries. And crumb topping. And whipped cream. Oh so yummy! The nice thing about this recipe is that it only makes two servings, so you can’t go too overboard! The recipe is also easily multiplied if you need to make a larger number of servings.

What You’ll Need:
For the filling:
1 cup of blueberries
2 tablespoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon lemon juice

For the crumb:
1/4 cup flour
1/8 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter

The How To:
Add the blueberries, sugar, cornstarch, and lemon juice to a small saucepan over medium to medium high heat. Stir so that everything is mixed well. As the blueberries heat up, keep stirring so the juices don’t burn, and bring to a boil. Allow the blueberries to boil for about a minute, and then spoon the mixture into two ramekins (or an oven-safe dish, depending on what you prefer).

Blueberries before and after

In a small bowl, cube the butter into the flour and sugar, and work it with your hands until the texture is crumbly. Sprinkle the crumb mixture on top of the blueberries. I prefer quite a bit of crumb topping which turns out to be slightly doughy but crisp on top. If you want more crunch, sprinkle a thinner layer on the surface.

Crumble

Bake at 400ºF for 15 to 20 minutes depending on how browned you like the top! I Baked mine for 15 minutes and then broiled the top for just a few minutes to really get it golden brown.

Ramekins

Be careful when you’re removing them from the oven–the ramekins will be very hot! Allow them to cool for a few minutes, and top with your favorite whipped topping.

Bite by bite

Enjoy!

Linking up with Delicious Dish Tuesday, Let it Shine, and Tuesday’s Table!

7 thoughts on “Blueberry Crumble for Two

  1. Oh my word. YUM! Crumb topping makes everything better, but I’m sure the cobbler is amazing without it too. I have some blueberries in my fridge now. I think I need to make this!!
    As for having gestational diabetes, I’m with ya sister. Only 2 of 4 pregnancies but it was enough to make me more aware. I’m not always good about being careful now that I’m no longer preg, but I’m told my family history plus twice having gest. diabetes means I’m pretty likely to get it, so I SHOULD be eating like I am already diabetic. Hard to pass on this deliciousness though!!!
    Thank you so much for linking up with us at Delicious Dish Tuesday!!

    • Gestational diabetes stinks, doesn’t it? I think the hardest part for me was cutting back on fruits, because while they are healthy they’re still sugar. I have my fingers crossed that it won’t happen again with my future pregnancies, but I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. Did they test you earlier in your subsequent pregnancies to see if you had it, or do you still wait until 20-something weeks?

      I feel the same way…I keep thinking I should already be eating as if I have diabetes to hopefully prevent getting it, but carbs are just so delicious that I don’t usually do too well with it. I did great while I was pregnant though. I think the motivation of caring for the little life inside of me was a good driving factor, but now that he’s out…I’m not quite as disciplined!

  2. Pingback: No Bake Cheesecake | Maria Simply Smiling

  3. Pingback: Nine Alternatives to Birthday Cake | Maria Simply Smiling

Leave a Reply

