Chicken Fajitas

As promised, this week’s recipe is chicken fajitas! If you missed last week’s delicious homemade tortillas, make sure you head over to that post because they really made these fajitas even more amazing than they usually are!

Fajita Header

The key to these fajitas is the marinade. It is best to prepare the chicken far enough in advance so that it has enough time to soak in all of those delicious flavors for a few hours before you cook it. I have made it before without letting it marinade at all, but it really is better when it has time to sit for a while.

I originally saw this recipe on the Young Wife’s Guide and have adapted it to what works for me. I don’t have a grill, so I always make these in a regular pan. I also changed the marinade a bit, and our family loves it this way. Also, this recipe freezes really well! I made shredded chicken before hand, put it in a ziplock with the marinade and tossed it until it was well coated. I popped it in the freezer and when I was ready to use it, I just defrosted it and heated it in a pan and it was just as good as making it fresh. In fact, it may have been even better because it was soaking in that marinade for a few weeks!

IMG_5899

To make the marinade:
3 Tablespoons oil (whatever oil you prefer is fine)
1.5 Tablespoons lemon juice
1.5 Tablespoons lime juice
2 Tablespoons taco seasoning
1 Tablespoon garlic

Mix all of the above ingredients together in a plastic bag or container and add the chicken. For this recipe I usually use two chicken breasts, which you can marinate whole or already cut into strips. Because I use just a regular pan and not a grill I always cut my chicken into strips. Allow the chicken to marinate for 3-6 hours, if you have the time. The longer it sits, the yummier it will be!

IMG_5901

For the veggies, you’ll want to chop up an onion and several bell peppers. I had mini bell peppers on hand so I used quite a few, but if you are using medium sized peppers I would probably use two or three. Also, I didn’t realize I didn’t have an onion in the house until I was already cooking, so just pretend like I cooked an onion too.

When the chicken has marinated for long enough, heat up your pan over medium high heat and cook it off. While the chicken is cooking, saute the peppers and onions, tossing every now and then to make sure they cook evenly. Don’t forget to season them with salt and pepper!

IMG_5910

IMG_5902

IMG_5906

We like our veggies tender-crisp, so we don’t cook them too long. If you prefer them softer, cook them longer! Just watch them to make sure you don’t forget about them and let them burn. I didn’t time any of this…sorry! I just watch everything and test it as I’m cooking. Both the chicken and the veggies shouldn’t take more than 10 minutes though!

Once everything is cooked as you like it, it’s time to assemble! Take one of your homemade tortillas as a base, add the chicken, and top with the peppers and onions. This dish is delicious served with rice, but if you want to keep it a low carb meal, you can pair it with my fiesta bean salad for a fresh, healthy option!

Assembling fajitas

Fajitas

Now go make some for yourself! Yum!

Linking up with Delicious Dish Tuesday and Tuesday’s Table!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Fajitas

  1. You’re right, the marinade is key. Yours sounds perfect!!! Can’t wait to try this recipe! Thanks so much for linking up with us again this week at Delicious Dish Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

