Delicious Homemade Tortillas

Well after a long (five day?) Fourth of July weekend, I’m back! It was nice to take a step back from the blog and spend time with family and friends. I hope all of you had a wonderful holiday weekend as well!

As I was brainstorming earlier today about what to make for dinner tonight, I got a sudden craving for chicken fajitas. Doesn’t that sound so yummy? Don’t worry, I’ll share that recipe with you next week. Today though, I want to share this awesome recipe I stumbled upon for homemade tortillas. They seemed simple enough to make, so I decided to give it a go.

Tortillas

This recipe is a keeper! It was just as simple as it sounded, and the tortillas taste so good. I’ll summarize the recipe here, but be sure to go to The Café Sucré Farine blog and check them out!

All you’ll need is:
3 cups of flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 cup warm water

1. Combine all dry ingredients and mix until everything is well incorporated. Add the water and oil, and mix until the dough is smooth. (Note: I don’t have a stand mixer, so I have to do everything by hand. I’m sure it is even more simple with the mixer, but I didn’t have any problems forming the dough just by stirring and then kneading just a little.)

Tortillas Step 1

2. Once the dough is smooth, form it into a ball and then divide it in half. Continue dividing the dough in half until you have 16 even-sized pieces. Roll each piece into a ball and flatten it into a small disc with the palm of your hand. Let the dough pieces rest, covered, for about 15 minutes.

Tortillas Step 2

3. When the 15 minutes is up, heat a large pan over medium-high heat. Roll each piece of dough thin with a rolling pin. I rolled them one at a time as I had one cooking in the pan so I didn’t have to worry about stacking the ready to be cooked tortillas and have them all stick together. Cook in a dry pan (you don’t need to put anything in it) for about a minute on the first side, until it becomes light brown. Flip it over, and cook about 30 seconds more on the second side. I personally like my tortillas a little darker, so I cooked them until they looked a little more dark brown.

Tortillas Step 3

4. Take the finished tortillas off the heat and store in a covered plastic container while you finish cooking the rest so they stay soft and don’t get dried out or crispy.

Tortillas Step 4

Viola! You’re finished. You can serve them warm–um, yum!–or you can cool them and keep them for later. The recipe says you can microwave them to heat them back up, but my husband and I always just throw our tortillas in a pan again for a few seconds on each side. Either way works, I’m sure! Apparently these can also be frozen indefinitely…which might mean I need to make a big batch of these now that the kiddo is asleep so we can enjoy fresh tortillas any time!

I’m really looking forward to experimenting with this recipe by adding flavors. Brinton loves spinach tortillas and I have had tomato basil ones before that were yummy, so next time I make these I think I’ll plan ahead and give that a go. If I do, I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.

Now that I have these delicious tortillas, I’m off to make fajitas. Check back next Tuesday for that recipe!

Linking up with Delicious Dish Tuesday and Tuesday’s Table!

6 thoughts on “Delicious Homemade Tortillas

    • Of course! It is your recipe, after all. My husband and I enjoyed these so much that they are going to become a regular staple in our meals. I don’t know if I’ll ever bother with store bought tortillas again.

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

  1. I LOVE homemade tortillas but haven’t ever tried to make them. Who knew they’d be so simple?! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe with us at Delicious Dish Tuesday!!

  2. Pingback: Chicken Fajitas | Maria Simply Smiling

  3. Pingback: Quinoa Spinach Wraps | Maria Simply Smiling

Leave a Reply

