June Favorites

These last two days have been…hectic. Evan has started this lovely habit of waking up between 5:00 and 5:30am…and it has been killing us. We have tried putting him to bed earlier (sleep supposedly begets sleep, right?), later, changing his naps during the day…nothing seems to help. It wouldn’t be such a big deal, but with Brinton’s new job sometimes he doesn’t get home until 10 or 11pm. Since that’s really the only time we get to see each other during the day we don’t want to cut it short by saying “hi…goodnight,” so instead we end up staying up later and then we are exhausted come morning. I’m open to suggestions, moms and dads!

Anyway, with very little sleep and working a few extra shifts this week, I haven’t really had time to even think about my June favorites, let alone blog about them. Even now, it is very late in the evening Tuesday (it is already Wednesday for every time zone on the mainland) and I’m barely getting this posted. So this is another two in one post–June favorites and a recipe! Yay! (If you are here just for the recipe, scroll to the bottom.)

Revlon ColorStay Foundation— A few weeks ago I tried a sample of the Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + foundation at Sephora and I really liked it…just not enough to shell out $36 bucks for it. I researched a bit and came across quite a few blogs that said that the Revoln ColorStay foundation was a pretty good dupe for it, so I decided at $9 and change it was worth a try. I purchased the formula for combination/oily skin in the color 180 Sand Beige. This makeup is fantastic. It covers well and has a nice finish to it, but it doesn’t feel heavy on the skin. It is mattifying but doesn’t make my skin look chalky, and it doesn’t end up looking “cakey” throughout the day. I think it was a much better investment than splurging on the MUFE. The only thing that would make this better is if it had a pump instead of just an open top. But other than that little detail, I really can’t complain.

Revlon ColorStay Foundation

Photo via Amazon

Boom Chicka Pop Caramel and Cheddar Popcorn— So yummy! I am a huge fan of sweet and salty sacks, so when I first tried this I was so happy! It is just so so good. There is a really great balance of caramel and cheddar, and the flavors compliment each other so well. Plus the bag looks awesome. Fun packaging is a plus! I bought this at Costco for just a few dollars…so it’s a big bag! And yes, that is my coworker taking a selfie with it. Haha…we have fun at work.

Boom Chicka Pop

Thanks for the photo, WIlson!

Scandal— My husband and I are completely addicted to this show. I know we are way behind the bandwagon here, but oh my goodness. We can’t stop watching it. I’m glad that there are several seasons on Netflix already, but we are speeding through them and I am going to be bummed when we have to wait to watch them like everyone else. Also, I love every single outfit Kerry Washington wears on the show. I generally don’t have “fashion icons,” but if I had to choose someone, it would be her (both her character on the show and her real life style!) Edit: As I was looking for a picture of the show, I came across fantastic news! A Scandal fashion collection will be coming to The Limited on September 22nd of this year so we can all dress like Olivia Pope! Haha, I’m in love! Now seriously…The Limited needs to come to Hawaii. Like…now.

Scandal

Photo via IMDB

Bare Minerals Ready Blush (The Natural High)— This is such a beautiful, peachy pink color with an almost golden iridescent shimmer. I love love love it. I feel like it makes my face come alive a bit and the subtle shimmer helps to catch the light in such a way that I glow ever so slightly. But…in a pretty way…not a greasy way or something like that. It is a really beautiful shade, and I appreciate the Ready formula because it is so convenient to just grab and go on mornings where I didn’t quite get to finish my makeup at home. Also, the packaging is phenomenal. I love the matte black case and how velvety smooth it is. It’s the little things, folks.

Bare Minerals Ready Blush The Natural High

Photo via Bare Minerals

Curried Tofu over Mashed Potatoes— I said there would be a recipe, remember! I’m always looking for new ways to cook tofu, because I really only know about two ways to use it. This recipe was so, so yummy. I ate it last night for dinner, today for lunch, and to be completely honest if there were more of it I would want it for dinner again tonight. It is my new favorite way to cook tofu and it has skyrocketed to one of my favorite go-to recipes. Bonus: it’s a simple recipe and uses only a few ingredients!

Curried Tofu.jpg

For the potatoes:
Potatoes
Butter
Milk
Salt

For the curried tofu:
1 block of extra firm tofu
2 carrots, peeled and sliced thinly (or shredded)
1 small onion
2 teaspoons of garlic
1.5 cups coconut milk
1 tablespoon curry
A few tablespoons of oil (whatever oil you prefer)
Seasoned salt
Salt and pepper to taste

To make mashed potatoes, rinse, peel, and chop the potatoes into small cubes. Put them in a large pot of water and bring the water to a boil. Cook them until a fork pierces them easily, drain, and put the potatoes back in the pot. Add butter, milk, and salt, and mash them up as much as you like! I like my potatoes a little lumpy, but if you like them smooth you can always blend them a bit. (Mashed potatoes are really simple…the real recipe here is the tofu!)

Mashed Potatoes Collage

For the curried tofu, begin by slicing the block of tofu into cubes. Pat it dry and let it rest for a few minutes. Heat about a tablespoon or two of oil in a pan over medium high heat, season the tofu with seasoned salt, and saute until golden brown. My seasoned salt had expired (which quite frankly, I didn’t know it could do) so I just seasoned it with salt, garlic powder, and paprika. Once it is browned off, remove it from the pan and set it aside. Add one more tablespoon of oil to the pan and saute the garlic, onion, and carrots until the onions become translucent, about 4 minutes. Add the coconut milk, curry powder, salt, and pepper, and cook for about another 4 minutes until the sauce begins to thicken and everything is nicely blended. Add the tofu back to the pan and mix to coat it with the sauce. Serve over the potatoes, and enjoy!

Curried Tofu How To Collage.jpg

Curried Tofu Final

So looking back at my favorites apparently I like beauty products, eating, and watching tv. Oh well. Maybe July will help me branch out a little, haha! Thanks for bearing with me as I try to play catch up this week a little!

Linking up for Delicious Dish Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

