Simple Roasted Asparagus with Swai

 Asparagus and fish 2

I am all about quick, simple recipes. Between when Evan usually goes to sleep around seven or seven-thirty and my husband’s work schedule which on occasion keeps him out until ten o’clock, sometimes we don’t have dinner on the table until between 8pm and 10pm. Yes, I’m aware it’s not good for us to eat that late, but we are also in a stage of life where we don’t even have a table…so you know…sometimes it is what it is. Our days are so busy usually that if I haven’t menu planned, there’s a good chance that I haven’t even decided what to make until five o’clock. But by then it’s all about Evan–making sure he has a good, balanced dinner, some play time, and then starting his bedtime routine so he can get to sleep on time. It’s usually at least 8 o’clock before I start cooking, and at that point I don’t want to be in the kitchen for longer than I need to be. Is anyone else’s life as chaotic as this sometimes? I hope the answer is yes!

Anyway, this asparagus took less than 15 minutes to make. That’s my favorite kind of recipe, y’all.

I say y’all a lot on here. Which is funny, because I don’t think I say it that much in real life. Not that this isn’t real life. But “in person” real life. Know what I mean?

I’m rambling. Sorry. Back to the veggies.

Rinse the asparagus and break off the tough bottoms of the stalks. Line a baking tray with tinfoil, and lay the asparagus flat. Drizzle extra virgin olive oil on top, and then sprinkle with salt, pepper, and garlic. If you don’t have fresh garlic, garlic powder will do the trick. Roll the stalks around to make sure they are evenly coated, and then pop into the oven at 400°F for about 10 minutes. You can play it by ear with the time depending on how crunchy or soft you prefer your asparagus to be, but I felt like this was perfect.

Take it out of the oven. Be happy forever. Done.

Seasoned asparagus on the left, finished roasted asparagus on the right. I know. It pretty much looks the same. But one is roasted and delicious and amazing and the other isn't I mean, I guess it could be okay. I've never eaten raw asparagus. But just roast it. You'll thank me. I promise.

Seasoned asparagus on the left, finished roasted asparagus on the right. I know. It pretty much looks the same. But one is roasted and delicious and amazing and the other isn’t. I mean, I guess it could be. I’ve never eaten raw asparagus. But just roast it. You’ll thank me. I promise.

I loved this recipe because even though I normally love my asparagus with parmesan cheese, we were all out. Most everyone has some oil, salt and pepper, and garlic in their homes. Well, maybe not the garlic. I usually have between one and three pounds of minced garlic in my fridge at all times. No, I’m not kidding. I’m Italian. That’s how it was for me growing up and if I didn’t have that much garlic on hand, well, I think I would be kind of lost. So it’s hard for me to imagine that people don’t have a ridiculous amount of garlic in their homes. But if you don’t, just use garlic powder. No big deal.

I paired this simple side with an even more simple entree. Swai fillets were on sale at my local grocery store, so I melted some butter in a pan, seasoned them with lemon pepper seasoning salt, and cooked on medium until they were flaky while the asparagus was roasting. Both things were done at the same time, and dinner couldn’t have been more delicious!

Asparagus and fish 1

Let me know if you try this recipe and how it goes. I love hearing from you!

Linking up for Delicious Dish Tuesday!

One thought on “Simple Roasted Asparagus with Swai

Leave a Reply

