One Dress, Two Ways

Can I be honest with you all?

I would love–like really love–to be able to be a “fashion blogger.” I love clothes, I love style, I love love love accessories…but that’s just not realistic for me right now. Maybe someday I will be in a situation where I have tons of readers and sponsors send me amazing pieces or bags or shoes or jewelry that I can style and wear and promote, but that’s not where I am in the blogging world today.

Since I started blogging, the majority of the blogs I follow are fashion oriented. I’ve realized in the last few weeks that since that is mostly what I am reading and seeing on Instagram, that is mostly what I am thinking about.

Things. All the time.

I’ve stretched our budget super thin in the last few weeks trying to pretend I could afford pieces that we simply just can’t…all for the sake of being able to style them and share them here. It finally hit me at the beginning of this week–that is just craziness! I am a firm believer that when you look good, you feel good, but there is so much more to life and so many more important things to focus on. So, that being said, my style posts in the future are going to be a lot more focused on different ways to wear or style a single item. I might not always be exactly on trend or have the perfect bag/shoes/jewelry to accessorize an outfit with, but I will be living within our means, which quite frankly is way more important.

As a side note…if any of you out there reading this want to sponsor my blog or send me things, I am totally on board! Okay…just wanted to put that out there. Haha.

Anyway…let’s get to it.

I mentioned in my very first What I Wore Wednesday post that I almost never find anything at Old Navy that works for me. I don’t know what happened this year, but Old Navy has been almost the only place that I have found things! I am all about comfortable pieces now that I’m at home with Evan most of the time, but I also like to feel put together. This fitted tee dress is amazing. It is so, so comfy and it can easily be dressed up or down. I had debated buying it (because of our budget!), but when I saw one of my friends wearing it in a different print, I knew I had to have it too. Dressy vs Casual CollageI think this color blue is so beautiful! I decided to go with this one instead of a print because this color will work well across all seasons. I’m looking forward to styling it later this year for cooler weather. Well, in theory at least. It’s always 85° and sunny here! And yes, I know I’m super pale for living in Hawaii. I’ve got to make it a priority to get to the beach more this year!

For the casual look, I think this dress would look great with a belt too. I don’t currently have one in my wardrobe that fits the bill though, so I suppose I’ll just have to wait to experiment with that. Sitting to the side Tada pose Bottom half The dressy look is simple and polished. Sometimes I feel like less really is more! I’ve worn this look to work, church, and hopefully a date-night in the near future. Also, this clutch is actually a large Tory Burch sunglasses case which I talked about in my June favorite things post last year. I love multi-tasking pieces! Full outfit angledKneelingAccessoriesWhat are some of your favorite versatile pieces? Let me know!

Link ups! Shanna//The Pleated Poppy//Get Your Pretty On//Transatlantic Blonde//Color Brigade//Tucker Up//More Pieces of Me and On the Daily Express//Trend Spin//Stylish Tuesday//Lovely Thursdays//Tres-Chic Fashion Thursday//Maybe I Will//Look What I Got//Three-fer Thursday//What I Wore to Work//Working Girl with Style//Friday Fab Favorites

18 thoughts on “One Dress, Two Ways

    • Thanks! The color really is just gorgeous. And even though I love shopping, I am looking forward to having to get a bit creative with the clothes I have now.

      Thanks for coming by!

  1. I love the idea of simply remixing the same pieces! And I don’t think you need to necessarily shop to stay relevant or trendy! Because it all honesty, there are classics that have lasted through multiple seasons, and by constantly mixing and matching pieces in your wardrobe, no one will ever know that you’re on a budget!
    This dress is great on you – the color is my favorite and the perfect canvas to dress up or down!

    • You’re right…there always are the classics. I like to think of being on a budget as a way to make sure I’m getting creative! Plus now I’ll definitely be getting good use out of all of the clothes I already have.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. This bold blue looks wonderful on you! Love how you have it styled up and down. Using your sunglasses case as a clutch was brilliant!

    Personally, when I check out style blogs it’s to gain inspiration for new ways to style what I already have. Yes, I do love shopping, but I never feel like I have to buy the exact pieces someone is wearing. That’s just me.

    Jennie

    • Aw, you’re so nice! Thanks for the reminder that it really is about style inspiration and not just “brand promoting” or something. I think sometimes it’s easy to forget that!

    • Thanks! I’m in love with this color right now. I’ve had to talk myself out of wearing this dress every day because I love it so much. Thanks for visiting and following my blog!

    • It’s so true! But for some reason this season I have been so obsessed with everything I see there. Haha I’ve started to avoid going in because I know I won’t walk out empty handed!

      Also, congrats on the baby! I’m so excited for you and looking forward to keeping up with your blog!

  3. Pingback: High Five for Friday | Maria Simply Smiling

  4. I would love to be a fashion blogger too! I also have realized that the blogs that I love are all fashion blogs. It is hard to read them all of the time and not want a ton of “things” as you said. I love it when I can repurpose old things in my closet to fit with new trends.

    That dress is gorgeous! Hopefully it will wear well and you’ll be able to get a few years out of it. It is such a classic silhouette and color.

  5. Pingback: April and May Favorites | Maria Simply Smiling

  6. Love your high/low versions of the same outfit. Adorable and that color is gorgeous on you. Thanks for linking up to the Be. YOU. Tiful link party. Pinning!

Leave a Reply

