Zesty Chicken Mini-Tacos

Y’all, my husband is amazing. A few nights ago I royally screwed up dinner. I followed an online recipe for lemon pepper chicken word for word, but either the recipe was really awful or I missed something somewhere because it was so salty that it was barely edible. Not wanting to waste food, we saved the leftovers (which was almost all of it) and decided to try and figure out some way to save it the next night. Enter amazing husband and the most delicious mini-tacos ever.

Mini-Tacos 1a

These were so simple to make and pretty quick too! For the taco shells, we used gyoza or pot-sticker wrappers and baked them for about 6 minutes at 400° F until they were crispy. To make sure the shells were wide enough I draped them over two chopsticks, but if you have a pan with wide enough edges you can use that too. Lightly spray them with the oil of your choice so they crisp up instead of just getting dried out.

Wonton Shells

This is the before picture…I forgot to take an after picture of the delicious crispiness!

Next I sauteed half an onion (diced) until it became slightly translucent (1), and added about a third of a cup of frozen corn (2). Once that was heated up nicely, I added the sliced lemon pepper chicken and sauteed until it was heated through (3). When that was all up to temperature I turned off the pan and mixed in about two small to medium sized tomatoes, also diced (4). I added absolutely no seasonings because I knew my disaster chicken would take care of that for me, but if you are making this without having ruined a dinner the night before (haha), you can season your chicken with some lemon pepper and garlic. Just make sure it is already cooked through before you add it to the pan!

Step by Step Collage

Taco filling

That’s it! Load it up and top them with a little bit of green onion. Delish!

Mini-Tacos 2Seriously these were so good. I might just have to mess up dinner more often 😉

Also, sorry for the somewhat poor picture quality. These photos were all taken with my phone because our camera was in my bag in the bedroom…and I wasn’t about to risk waking the baby just for some better quality photos. Know what I mean?

Anyway, make these! And then let me know how they turned out for you. I’d love to hear about it!

First time linking up with Mary for Delicious Dish Tuesday!

 

7 thoughts on “Zesty Chicken Mini-Tacos

  1. I’m so glad you linked up. What a great way to turn around a dinner go wrong and turn it into something delicious! I wonder what went wrong though, what a bummer! Have a great week 🙂

    • It was such a bummer! But at least it turned into something awesome. Haha my husband asked me if we could “mess up dinner” again soon. I love your link up! I’m collecting so many yummy ideas!

  2. There’s nothing better than being able to take a botched meal and create something amazing with it!! These look so good!
    Thanks so much for sharing with us at Delicious Dish Tuesday! We hope you’ll join us again this week with another great recipe!

  3. Pingback: Delicious Dish Tuesday Recipe Link Up- Tacos

  4. Thanks again for linking up to DDT last week! I featured this as my favorite for this week’s link up! 🙂 Please feel free to stop by and grab the Feature Favorite button! 🙂 Hope to see you again this week with a new recipe!

  5. Pingback: Minion Cake | Maria Simply Smiling

Leave a Reply

