Coral, Glitter, and Striped Nails

For the last few weeks, I have been wanting to do a coral and gold glitter manicure on my nails, but I’ve been lacking inspiration as to what I actually wanted them to look like! I scoured Pinterest, Instagram, and YouTube to try and find a nail design that I liked, but nothing really grabbed me. I know choosing a nail design shouldn’t be such a dilemma…if you don’t like it just take it off, right? But my nails usually last two weeks because I use an at home gel system called Sensationail, which means I want to make sure I’m going to like what I’m painting on there!

I knew I wanted to try the falling glitter look, and I wanted to throw a splash of turquoise in there too, but even when I sat down to paint my nails, I didn’t know what I was doing yet! I think most of my inspiration came from Janelle who I have been following on YouTube for a while now, but I did end up switching things up a bit, and I am loving the finished look!

I’ll be posting a complete review and how-to of the Sensationail system next week (I said the same thing last year, but I mean it this time!) Until then, here is a pictorial how-to if you want to achieve the same look…gel nails or not!

1. Base Coat 2. Coral on all nails except ring finger 3. White on ring finger 4. Apply two coats, should look like this 5. Add glitter to the base of the nail 6. Using fan brush, spread glitter until it looks how you want it 7. Close up of nail after glitter is spread 8. Add two lines, one thicker than the other 9. Add gold stripes around thicker line, and a coral stripe on top of thinner line 9a. Close up 10. Add a line of gold glitter on top of coral stripe, add top coat on all nails. Finished!

1. Base Coat 2. Coral on all nails except ring finger 3. White on ring finger 4. Apply two coats, should look like this 5. Add glitter to the base of the nail 6. Using fan brush, spread glitter until it looks how you want it 7. Close up of nail after glitter is spread 8. Add two lines, one thicker than the other 9. Add gold stripes around thicker line, and a coral stripe on top of thinner line 9a. Close up 10. Add a line of gold glitter on top of coral stripe, add top coat on all nails. Finished!

Hope you like it!

4 thoughts on “Coral, Glitter, and Striped Nails

  1. Pingback: Bold Patterns | Maria Johnson

Leave a Reply

