Fourth of July and other weekend randomness

We are only one week into July and I feel like I am already playing catch up! We were super busy this last week, but we still tried to make time for some fun stuff. Brinton and I both had to work all day on the 4th (which I was super bummed about because it was a beautiful day here in Hawaii!), but we were at least able to join our friends in the evening for some food and fireworks at Ala Moana.  We had such a great evening though that it didn’t really matter that we had both worked all day long!

Fourth of July CollageAnd let’s not forget the festive nails!

This nail design is all over Pinterest, so I decided to give it a try. I love how it turned out!

This nail design is all over Pinterest, so I decided to give it a try. I love how it turned out!

Confession: these were actually my Memorial Day nails. I did the same exact thing for the 4th, except I did my ring finger with red and blue polka dots instead of the stripes and heart. I don’t know why I didn’t take a picture!

The rest of the weekend we took to try and get stuff done around the house. On Saturday I very suddenly felt that we had a lot of stuff. Does anyone else know what I mean? We are working right now on sorting through all of that so we can get rid of the clutter and have everything organized for when baby comes. It’s definitely a process, but I really love that “ahh, it’s clean and everything has its place” feeling, ya know?

I’m probably going to do a more organized home post when we finish this project, but I did want to share one more photo. Brinton and I tackled cleaning out our closet yesterday, and I absolutely love the way that he has reorganized his ties.

IMG_3229

It should be noted that this boy has a ridiculous number of ties…this isn’t even all of them! Before his mission he was trying to build a collection of one tie for every day of the year…but luckily I think he has since given up on that. Zip ties are on the right, regular ties on the left.

Haha, I am sure he is going to think I am a complete weirdo for loving this so much that I shared it on my blog…but I think it’s brilliant. It looks so nice! I should have taken a before and after shot of the whole closet, but did I? Nope. Oh well. The closet got clean. That’s all that matters!

I’m hoping to stay more on top of things on the blog this week. I have most mornings off and I’m closing instead for the next few days, so hopefully that means I can get quite a bit done before work. And I promise, week 32 baby update and picture coming soon!

Linking up with Sami!

Sami's Shenanigans

2 thoughts on “Fourth of July and other weekend randomness

  1. It is so rotten to work on holidays!! But I’m glad you guys had fun at night 🙂 We were so lame and stayed home instead of going to see fireworks, but at one point they got so big from our neighbor’s yard, I could lie down on the floor in our bedroom and see them out of the window.

    Haha, I thought Wesley had a lot of ties…. 😉 Love that organization rack for them!

Leave a Reply

