Baby Bump: Week 28

Baby Bump Week 28

Week 28! I am officially in my third trimester, which means that in 12 weeks (or possibly less!) we will be able to welcome our little man into our family. It is an extremely exciting, overwhelming, fantastic, nerve-wracking, extraordinary feeling. Baby J has be so active over the last few days that I swear he is swimming laps in there…complete with the flip turns from side to side. People ask me all the time now when I am due, and when I say that I’m due at the end of August, they always respond with, “You’re so small!” I don’t feel small though. I feel like someone placed a basketball in my belly. Haha. Bending over is increasingly difficult these days…

This past week we also found out that unfortunately, I have developed gestational diabetes. I’ve been researching as much as I can about it in the last few days, and from what I have read it looks like it effects about 18% of women during pregnancy. The day I found out, I was really, really, really upset. Now that I have had a few days to pull myself together and wrap my head around it, I’ve realized that everything is going to be okay, and this is something that I will be able to control and overcome. I’m going to blog specifically about my experience (I know the first thing I did when I got home was tried to find other women’s blogs who had GD as well), so you can follow along with me for the last trimester of my pregnancy. If any of you reading this have experience with gestational diabetes, please feel free to comment or email me! I would love to hear about your experiences, as well as learn any tips or tricks for meals and how to stay healthy. My first consultation at the hospital isn’t until next week, so until then, all I really know is that I need to be watching my carbs and sugars, and maintaining an exercise routine.

Other than that, everything is going really well with the pregnancy. Baby and I are healthy and happy, and Brinton is enjoying  talking to him and watching him squirm around.

Later this week I’ll write about my initial reaction to finding out I have GD, and I’ll give a brief explanation regarding what gestational diabetes is and what it means for me and baby. So stay tuned!

One thought on “Baby Bump: Week 28

  1. Do hope you will be able to maintain the healthy program you want to. Blessings, love and prayers to the three of you, love you, Grandma

Leave a Reply

