Love One Another

I have been really contemplative over the last week about what the Christmas season really means to me. After the tragedy in Connecticut this weekend…it makes me speechless. I haven’t been able to put my thoughts into words yet. Maybe I’ll write about it eventually, but for now, all I can think of is this song.

As I have loved you, love one another.
This new commandment: love one another.
By this shall men know ye are my disciples,
If ye have love one to another.

My heart goes out to everyone who is hurting, and my prayers are with you. I hope we can take the opportunity this Christmas season to be reminded of our many blessings, but also to remember what really matters in our lives. Most importantly, I hope our reflection and behavior don’t stop when we take down our trees. As I was reading my scriptures the other morning, I came across a paper Christmas ornament that I have had for several years. It somehow got lost between the pages, but I feel like I came across it at just the right time.

Paper Ornament

I encourage each and every one of you this Christmas season to pick something on this ornament, and do it. Pick five somethings. Pick all twenty-two. Take the opportunity every day to make someone else’s life better. Be positive. Care about people. Remember to not take for granted your relationships with those you care about. Treat everyone with respect. Be slow to anger and quick to forgive. And I love the last piece of encouragement:

Speak your love, and then speak it again.

Leave a Reply

