Stuffed Mushrooms

As promised in my last post, here is a quick step by step for how to make the most amazingly delicious stuffed mushrooms you have ever tasted in your life. Now, that may sound like an exaggeration, but once you taste these you will realize it is a spot on description of how wonderful they are. Seriously, my mouth is watering even thinking about writing this post.

Okay, here we go. You will need:

Mushrooms, caps and stems washed and separated
Breadcrumbs, preferably Italian style
Parmesan cheese
Fresh garlic, chopped
Fresh parsley, if available
Extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
Salt and pepper to taste

Notice, I don’t have specific measurements for all of these ingredients. I just kind of eyeball it. I’m sorry! I’m Italian and was raised in a household that “cooked until it looked like this” or “tastes like that.” I mean, don’t get me wrong, we had specific recipes too, but I can’t really share those with the internet world because then I would have to kill you. Or my mom would kill me. One or the other. Anyway, back to mushrooms.

It doesn’t really matter what kind of mushrooms you use. For this occasion, I used white button mushrooms because that is what they had on sale. As far as quantity, I was making these for Thanksgiving so I made about 85 or so. I had breadcrumb mixture left over, so we had about 25 more mushrooms later that week. That is one of the nice things about this recipe…it is super flexible and you can make as much or as little as you need!

After the mushrooms have been washed and separated, let the caps dry and chop up the stems. You will be adding the stems to the breadcrumb mixture. In a bowl mix all ingredients except EVOO. You want probably about one third to one half as much cheese compared to how many breadcrumbs you are using. Use salt and pepper to taste, remembering that you don’t need much salt because the breadcrumbs and cheese will be plenty flavorful. I didn’t have fresh parsley, so I added a little bit of Italian seasoning. I personally really love garlic (again, I’m Italian…) so I used 10 to 15 cloves of garlic all chopped nicely. Don’t forget! I made roughly 110 mushrooms with my mixture, so DON’T use that much garlic for just a few mushrooms! These pictures should give you an idea of what the ingredients all look like together:

image

image

In the first picture, I had forgotten to add the chopped mushroom stems, but I did toss them in for the second picture. Once everything is in the bowl, lightly drizzle it with EVOO and begin to toss it all together. You don’t want the mixture too wet because then it would be oily and disgusting. You only want it moist, that way the breadcrumbs won’t burn but instead will crisp up and turn a beautiful golden brown color.

Once everything is all mixed nicely, grab a spoon and begin to stuff your mushrooms. I find it helpful to make sure the cap is filled and then top it with a heaping spoonful so it has a nice little mound of stuffing on top.

image

After all of your mushrooms are stuffed, add a bit of water to the bottom of your pan or baking dish. You want to add enough that all of the mushrooms are sitting in water. It will evaporate in the oven and help the mushrooms to stay moist, but most importantly it will ensure the mushrooms don’t stick to the bottom of the pan. Let me tell you, one of the worst feelings is trying to take the mushrooms off the pan and ruining them because they are all stuck. Don’t let that happen to you!

Finally, drizzle the tops with a bit more EVOO so it will really crisp up, and pop it in the oven at 400°F to 425°F for about 25 minutes. When the tops are golden brown they are ready! Remember, they are going to be HOT, so resist the urge to eat them immediately, though I know it will be difficult. Don’t worry, I won’t tell anyone if you sneak a few of the tiny ones!

Mushrooms 2

Delicious!

Don’t know what to make them with? Check out my Kitchenspiration section for ideas!

One thought on “Stuffed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

