Santa Penguin Nails

Pinterest is a wonderful thing. I saw nails similar to these over the weekend and decided to give it a go myself. I didn’t take step by step pictures because to be honest, I wasn’t sure if I was going to pull it off or if it was going to be a complete flop, but in the end I thought they turned out really cute! I got a million comments on them from people at work and the general consensus seemed to be that everyone loved them, so I knew I had to share.

Penguin Nails

With the weather never changing around here, I needed a little dose of winter!

Quick step by step:

1. Start with a good basecoat. I know it seems like you are already going to be adding on a ton of layers, but it really does help the polish stay on longer.
2. Add a layer of light, sky-blue colored polish. Let dry.
3. If you need to add a second layer of blue polish, go ahead. Remember though that it doesn’t have to be perfect. You are going to be covering it up with snow and penguins.
4. Using a dotting tool, make white polka-dots on the nails without penguins. I decided to make my nails pretty spotted, but you could very easily just do a few dots here and there and make it look more like snow than polka-dots. Up to you!
5. On the penguin nails, start by making a layer of “snow” at the bottom by painting a messy french tip. Let dry.
6. Paint a black circle, overlapping slightly so your penguin is standing on the bed of snow. Draw two small lines out of the middle for the penguin’s flippers. Let that dry for a few minutes.
7. Because I only have one nail art brush, I was trying to do all of the like colors at the same time. After I made the black penguin body, I went in and drew a small Santa hat hovering over the penguin’s head. Let that dry for a few minutes as well.
8. Go back in with the white and make a small circle for the belly, two dots for eyes, and put the cotton trim around the Santa hat. Remember: when you are making the white dots for eyes, you want them large enough that you will still be able to put another black dot inside to make the pupil. You can then make a few white snowflakes around your adorable penguin.
9. After your penguin dries a little, take an orange polish, and make a little beak and two feet. It makes the whole thing come together.
** Extra step: I took some glitter polish and added that on top of my polka-dot only nails and at the bottom of the penguin nails on the bed of snow.**
10. Finish by adding a top coat. The one I am currently using is Sally Hansen Diamond Flash Fast Dry Top Coat. I have been looking for a fast dry top coat that not only dries quickly but helps prevent chipping. I can’t say that this one is amazing, but it does the job a lot better than my previous one. When and if I find another, I’ll give you all an update. If any of you have any recommendations for a topcoat you love, please let me know!!!

For all of you who are wondering, these are the colors/brands that I used. If any of you have questions or thoughts please leave them down below!

Penguin Polishes

That’s it! Now you can enjoy the winter-wonderland on your hands all day long, no matter what the weather is outside. 

3 thoughts on “Santa Penguin Nails

  1. How adorable! You’ve gotten so talented with your nails! That polish collection sure brings back memories 🙂 There was a snowflake/fair isle looking white on red pattern on pinterest recently that overwhelmed me but might be perfect for you once you decide to change up.

Leave a Reply

