Thirty Days of Thanks: Day 6

Today was a long, long, long day at work. Twelve hour work days are always tedious, and by the time I get home all I want to do is eat something, relax, and go to bed. Since I am challenging myself to be more consistent with blogging, however, here I am. Day 6 of 30:

6. I am thankful for the democratic process in the United States of America and my right to vote.

Regardless of who wins or loses an election, I am so grateful that I have the opportunity to make my voice heard. I am grateful to live in a country in which I can freely express my opinions without being subject to penalty or death, and I appreciate the chance I have to influence who leads the USA.

That being said, I want to echo my husband in saying that I support the United States of America. America as a whole has chosen to re-elect Obama, and as he is still our president I support him and pray that he will be able to guide our country to the best of his abilities. Regardless of which candidate won tonight, my hope is that we can learn to look beyond party lines and work together to improve our country and our lives. I also hope that as individuals we recognize that our civic duty did not begin and end with tonight’s election. We have the opportunity each and every day to go out into our communities and improve society, so whether your candidate won or lost tonight, remember that we always have the ability to make a difference.

Maybe that all sounded very idealistic, but I do wish that is how we could all work together.

On that note, I’m exhausted. Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

