30 Days of Thanks

It’s November! I can’t really believe that the year has flown by the way that it has. That is one thing about living in Hawaii that I didn’t really think about before we moved here…it’s always 86°F and sunny. Time seems to stand still in a way. There is no change of season (other than from normal to rainy) and it becomes hard to gauge what month it is.

Anyway, since the calendar tells me it is November, I decided I wanted to jump on board with the 30 days of thanks I see a bunch of people doing. Now, yes, I do acknowledge that it is already November 3rd…but in my defense I have been super busy with work and going on dates with my husband. I felt that those things took precedence over me stopping to blog. Nevertheless, I have been keeping a mental list of my “grateful-for’s,” so this post will include the first three:

1. I am so thankful for having such an amazing husband.

My husband is the best person that I know. He is one of the most genuinely kind people I know and he has such a big heart. He will drop anything for anyone if there is any way he can help. He treats me with so much respect, love, and affection…so much so that I absolutely know without a doubt how much he loves me. No words on paper (or online!) could adequately describe how much I love him or how wonderful he is. I am just so grateful to be married to my very best friend.

2. I am grateful for my knowledge of and relationship with my Savior, Jesus Christ.

Plain and simple, I know that Jesus Christ is my Savior and Redeemer, and that He lives. My relationship with Him and my faith in Him have led me through my darkest hour and helped me to stay on a path that I know will lead me back to my Father in Heaven. I am grateful for everything He has done for me–including every trial and challenge, every pain and temptation, and every blessing and reward. My knowledge of His Atonement keeps me strong, and I am grateful to understand what it means to feel the Savior’s love.

3. I am grateful for families.

Both of our families are so far from me and my husband right now, but I am thankful for each and every person who makes us whole. Don’t get me wrong…we all fight, and bicker, and sometimes we lose sight of what is really important (ha…any other families out there know what that’s like?) but at the end of the day, more often than not we remember how important family is. My dad taught me that lesson when I was 17 and pig-headed and wanted to stay home with friends instead of drive to NY for an uncle’s funeral, and though I didn’t appreciate the lesson then, I understand it now. I’ll never forget sitting in our den, having just watched Moonstruck (awesome movie, everyone!) and my dad tried to put into words why family was the most important thing. Sometimes I wish I could go back to that moment. I’m grateful that now I understand what he meant. I’m so glad that I am best friends with my mom, and that my sister and I don’t fight as much anymore. I hope my in-laws understand that I am still learning how to be part of their family, and I hope everyone who is far from us knows how much we miss them!

Okay, so there are my three things for the first three days of November. I will do my best to write a new post every day in November. I’ve realized that unless I plan out blogs in advance, the week just gets away from me and nothing ends up happening! I’m still so new to blogging, so I hope that the few of you who do read this will bear with me.

Happy Sunday-eve everyone!

Leave a Reply

