“It is not a waste of time for man to be creative”

Earlier this week I was casually skimming through a few of my favorite blogs (links down below!), and I stumbled across this fabulously written post written by Kate over at The Small Things Blog. What first caught my eye was the title of her post, “It’s not a waste.”  Naturally, I wanted to find out what she was talking about, so I clicked the link and began to read.

For a long time I have been going back and forth about what I want to do with my life. To an extent, I have the big picture mostly in place. I am already a wife to an amazing, loving husband, and I know eventually my role as wife will transform into a role as wife/mom. I feel confident in that future, but as far as what I want to do professionally…I am still searching for that.

In college, instead of pursuing theatre as a career, I decided to, “pursue something more practical.” In the past year, I have put off blogging about a bajillion times because I felt like I had nothing “new” to offer to the blog world. Maybe it’s true…maybe I don’t, but that doesn’t make my voice any less important. I have always had a love for all things creative, especially theatre, music, cooking, and crafting. More recently I have found that I absolutely love organizing, homemaking, creating nail designs, and experimenting with make-up and beauty products. Reading Kate’s blogpost helped me to realize that there is nothing wrong or shallow about any of these things. Just because my desires aren’t to get an MBA, or become a scientific researcher, or do anything else often praised as worthwhile by society doesn’t mean that my endeavor to create is any less valuable. What is important is to understand that there is value in the things I am passionate about, simply because I love them. My creative talents should not be hidden, but embraced, nurtured, and shared! God didn’t bless me with these gifts for me to bury them, but cultivate them and help them grow.

With that revelation and refreshed outlook toward the things that I enjoy most comes the birth of this new blog. And maybe, just maybe, it will be the start of something more.

Leave a Reply

